Traditions and Drama

drama

I am sure that I am not the first, and won’t be the last, to acknowledge how the holidays sometimes brings out the worse in people. We typically think of the holidays as a special time, heck, even a happy time but that is not always the reality for many of us.

My extended family used to have a tradition of getting together every Thanksgiving at one of our wealthier family members homes and everyone would eat, drink and be merry. However, this tradition was quickly thwarted a few years back when a disgustingly drunk uncle and a self-righteous cousin got into a full blown fight that soon led to things being broken and Thanksgiving being ruined for the rest of us. It was at that time that I decided to start my own Thanksgiving tradition, with my children, and I must say that it seems to be going much better than dealing with the family drama that comes, without fail, every time my extended family gets together.

I should let you know that I am looking forward to Thanksgiving and this entire holiday season, much like I do every year, but it is kind of sad to not be able to be with family due to not knowing if and when a fight will break out. Maybe things will get better as the years go by or maybe we will all eventually settle into our own, individual traditions and the thoughts of coming together as a family will not matter much any longer… Only time will tell. No matter what happens with the traditions that my grandmother started I will always be thankful for the time that I did get to spend with my extended family during past holidays. As far as my family’s Thanksgiving tradition, I pray that it will be something that my children will continue long after I am gone.

Happy Holidays everyone!

One thought on “Traditions and Drama”

Leave a Reply

