“All The Wrong Places” Book Tour

allthewrongplacesbookbanner

I don’t know how many of you have heard, or read, the book entitled “All the Wrong Places” but I would recommend reading it. I recently had the privilege of interviewing the wonderful author behind the book, Rebecca Fisher. Read below to see what she had to say…

 

ReNewedChick: Do you have any siblings?

Rebbca Fisher: I am the second born of four children, 2 boys, 2 girls.

 

RC: What was your childhood like? Did you grow up with both parents in the house? What kind of child were you?

RF: Our parents have been married 45 years, and while they struggled financially, my mom worked extra jobs tutoring and teaching piano to provide us a private-Christian education that I am very thankful for. I was a painfully shy child, but always loved music and books. Being an introvert, I always felt different and a little bit on the outside, like the one red m&m in a bowl of all green, never really fitting in with cliques and norms. Reading and music were a way to escape the awkwardness and difference and feel safe and a part of something.

 

RC: Where did you attend college?

RF: I attended our local university in Northridge, CA for my bachelor’s degree in English and later earned my master’s degree at National University in Education and English.

 

RC: How long were you a single mom? Was is by choice or circumstance?

RF: I was a single mom for six years, having left a marriage in order to provide a safer and more stable environment for myself and my daughter. That marriage had become toxic and dangerous, and while I sought help to try and fix it, it became clear that the safest and healthiest thing to do was leave it.

 

RC: When did you marry your husband?

RF: I remarried at 28, to a man who also had a daughter, making us a blended family overnight. And while it was difficult, and came with many high hurdles and opposition, we are going on ten years, stronger and more blended than I could have imagined. Had there been any weakness in our love and devotion to each other, we might not have made it.

 

RC: How did you know he was “the one”?

RF: I remember early on when we were dating, we were sitting on his loveseat together, upstairs in the loft watching a movie, when I was overcome with the realization that it was the first time I had ever felt comfortable just being myself – no pretending, no drama, just a calm sense of security, love and total acceptance and adoration of who I was, who he was. That hasn’t changed in ten years. I still feel that way sitting next to him anywhere, and I believe all of the hurdles and opposition has only magnified those feelings.

 

RC: Did you always want to write a book? If so, why and who inspired you to author a book?

RF: I have always been a storyteller and started writing stories as soon as I could put sentences together. I think the stories that touched me most and inspired me to write were Jane Eyre and Sherlock Holmes.  While they’re very different, they are both so rich in character, setting and the truths of life and love.

 

RC: Which did you find more difficult: writing the book or marketing it?

RF: While writing and marketing were both challenging, I would say writing the book took the most time, commitment and hard work. Writing a story from beginning to end that actually has a clear plot, rich characters and a meaningful message takes time and skill and determination. Sometimes I would get stuck, not knowing where the story needed to go to get to the next scene waiting in my mind, and I would have to let my characters lead me. Then there’s the editing, and more editing, and more editing and formatting and covers. But at the end, I have my story bound and in print to hopefully share with others who could benefit from an inspirational message of overcoming and new beginnings. Marketing is an endless and daunting task beyond my skill set, but luckily there are people out there who know what they’re doing to help me get my story out there.  I have relied on the skills of many people to try and get my story into the hands of readers.

 

RC: What is the best advice you received growing up?

RF: Some of the best advice I’ve ever been given is that it’s none of my business what other people think of me.  This has been so useful in my relationships and interactions, but when applied to my writing, it reminds me that not everyone is going to like my writing and many may have some strong opinions about it, but it truly isn’t any of my business. My goal was to tell my story in the most creative, compelling and inspiring way I could. I feel I’ve done that, and worrying about what other people will think about it can’t help me share that message. I always feel so blessed and blown away when people write to me about taking anything positive and hopeful away from my story. I will focus on that.

 

RC: What advice would you give someone who wants to write a book (or two) some day?

RF: For those who dream of writing a book one day, I’d say that day is now. Dreaming won’t write the book, you will.  Sit down, open up a blank page and start writing. Don’t stop until every scene that’s crossed your mind and colored itself with meaning is on those pages. This is how ALL writers begin. We write. And we keep writing. And every doubt and fear you’ve had, we’ve had. Tell your story anyway and don’t be afraid to seek guidance from those who have done it.

 

Please support this amazing author. Tell your friends, family and coworkers. To learn more about Rebecca and her book, “All the Wrong Places”, visit her website.

 

 

2 thoughts on ““All The Wrong Places” Book Tour”

Leave a Reply

