Money Monday

make-money

I wanted to introduce something new to the blog… an “itinerary” of sorts. I am still thinking about what I would like the topics to be for each day of the week but I pretty much have Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday and Sunday decided. So, today is what I would like to call ‘Money Monday’ and in the coming weeks, months and possibly years, I will be sharing information on all things money and money-related. It may come in the form of a post or in the form of me sharing an article that I have read and giving my own opinion on or even me asking you, my wonderful community, to send in questions concerning budgets, coupons, finances, etc. and my answer or advice to your particular situation.

I am presently taking an FPU class and for those of you that don’t know what that is I will tell you. FPU is Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University course that has been taught (and continues to be taught) to millions of people all around the country. It is a 9-week class about saving, spending, budgeting, personal finances, insurance, retirement and how to basically get out of debt (including your mortgage debt). In this class we utilize something known as the Envelope System and I won’t go into this now but I will be sure to post some things about this class and this system in the coming weeks.

My class ends next month so I will probably just do a compilation post of the entire course. I would encourage those of you looking to get out of debt or just needing to be more active and intentional with your personal finances and budget to look into setting aside some time to enroll in this course or to study up on some of Dave Ramsey’s materials. I am sure they will be of great help to you no matter where you are financially.

If you’re not into reading and prefer to listen to audio or watch someone speak, Dave has a call-in radio talk show and also some podcasts that you can download and listen to as you are exercising or driving the kids to school. 🙂 There is even stuff for your kids to never end up in debt and for those of us that have been entrusted, as parents, to guide our kids in “the way that they should go” from a financial standpoint.

So, be sure to leave your questions, topics, concerns below or email them to me at misssatomi1@gmail.com and lets start some discussions about our finances. Maybe what we talk about here will help someone else both now and in the future.

6 thoughts on “Money Monday”

  1. I love FPU. I did it about 4 years ago. The best part is, Dave Ramsey is funny and he makes finances fun. Sure there is a little ‘don’t do this, don’t do that’ but for the most part he is simply just teaching people how to use money to accomplish their dreams and goals. He is teaching how to make money work for you, instead of making you work for money.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! I am so glad someone else out there has heard about this course. Everyone I have been telling about it have either been very uninterested and felt they didn’t need a budget or have never heard of FPU or Dave Ramsey! I’m so glad you took this course. Would love to chat with you about your experience before, in and after it. FPU has definitely helped me to renew my mind and retrain my thinking when it comes to this subject. Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well… I know it worked for a lot of people I know but I was in a dysfunctional relationship and he would take money out of whatever envelope he wanted whenever he wanted to. That doesn’t work very well. But…. my daughter has been using this in college (except for student loans). She is working her rear end off to keep her debt low but it is otherwise working for her. I am planning to start using this system again when I move into my new apartment November 1st. I’ll have a new home, new job (just found out today) and a new committment to making my money work. 🙂 If you haven’t checked it out yet, you should look at their on-line budget tool. Other programs can work but I really like that one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

