Court…again!

So, yesterday, I went to court, for the umpteenth time and I must say, I learn a little bit more every time I am there. Anyway, I was summoned to court about a month ago, by my ex, and this time it was because of him claiming that he wants to have visitation with the children, after not seeing them for almost 2 years. In the documents that his lawyer drew up and sent over to my lawyer, it stated that I had been denying him adequate time with the children.

I’ll tell you what’s wrong with that. First of all, visitation was granted and I was okay with this (even with the abusive and neglectful history that he has with not only myself, but also with the kids). Secondly, he chose not to take advantage of this and tried everything in his power to make it so that I not only had to ensure that I never denied him visitation but also that I would be responsible for paying for his transportation or “at the very least” meeting him half way to drop them off. Oh, the nerve!!!

What more does he possibly want from me? It makes me leery of his motives especially when he claims that it is too much for him to drive out to DeKalb to pick up the children, every other weekend, however, it is obviously not too much for him since the court, that we have to go to, is about 15 minutes past where I live, and he manages to find his way out there to attend every single court hearing – and that is many times two or three times per month.

I believe that I am being more than lenient and understanding of his situation and his life and I do not ask him to do anything more than I believe is reasonable and feasible for him to do. However, I have been doing everything, by myself, for over 2 years now (longer than that if you count doing things by myself and making decisions concerning the children, even during the marriage) and I have tried not to complain about anything (not even child support, which he has still not paid to this day but somehow that continues to be overlooked by him). When is enough, enough? Seriously!

What do you all think? What are some ways that you would keep your cool about something like this? For the life of me, I am trying but I don’t know what else to do or how else to feel about continuing to be brought to court for things that have already been “decided”. I am human and I am flawed and I need a Savior just like everyone else but I am also a single mother who has been doing the best that I can with what I have.

What would you do? How would you proceed in this situation? Join the conversation. I would love to hear your stories of survival and triumph and, also, how you (or someone you know) made it through the tough times – and things similar to what I am presently dealing with.

>>> This blog is not meant to be just about me. It is meant to be a dialogue, not a monologue. I would love it if you all got involved and shared your hearts and your stories with me. It’s only in this way that this will speak into the lives of people like I so desire it to. Join me in changing the mentality of a generation and generations to come. You never know who may be reading and how their entire world can possibly be changed because of a simple answer or a spoken word. As always, feel free to like, share, comment and be sure to follow me on Twitter and Like me on Facebook! Until next time family! 🙂 <<<

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Court…again!”

  1. I went through many of these scenarios. He wanted me to bring the girls halfway when he chose to move over 3 hours away. The Judge said not a chance. He chose to move, I didn’t go anywhere. He wanted to claim them on taxes. The Judge said no way. It is a privilege to claim them and since he was not capable of paying child support he can not ever claim them. Yet he still asks me every year if he can claim one of them. I have been dealing with this for 8 years. It used to be court at least once a month for the longest time. Now he has basically disappeared. Stay strong. You were blessed with your children because you are able to give them the life they deserve 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I definitely needed this encouragement. Sometimes, when you’re in it, you feel like you’re all alone. I know I’m not but it still doesn’t help to not have the support that I need. The taxes thing came up with us as well and I felt like he shouldn’t be able to claim them since he does nothing for them so thank you for sharing your experience and your story. It is greatly appreciated! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

