Intuition

Have you ever had a moment when you didn’t know why you were doing a particular thing but you knew you just had to do it? I was talking to a friend of mine earlier today and during the course of our 15-minute phone conversation, she happened to mention that she just had a feeling that she needed to go and see her mother yesterday. You see, she called me to let me know that her mother, who had always been like a mom to me as well, had passed this morning. It was pretty unexpected to say the least. After I got off of the phone with my girlfriend, I began to think about all the times that I have used the word and phrases that she kept using. Phrases like, “I had a feeling” and “Something told me to“. Sound familiar?

Over the course of the last couple of hours I began to put two-and-two together and something dawned on me…these experiences of being “spoken” to are not a coincidence and they are certainly not a fluke. I believe that this is one of the ways that God speaks to us and sometimes the way that He warns us of things that are to come. I mean, how many times have you yourself used this type of language when you found out that something tragic, expected or even unexpected has happened? I think we can agree that the old “intuition”, “gut feeling” and “something told me to” talk is pretty common among most of us.

What makes us not just say that “God told us to…” when we are speaking about a particular situation or speaking with certain people? Is it that we have just grown accustomed to saying this, instead of giving God the recognition and glory for warning us of what’s ahead? Or is it that we really don’t know that it was God speaking so, instead of saying it was God, we choose to be safe and use language such as this?

I don’t know. I understand that not everything that is “told” to us is divinely inspired – and yes, there are times when the devil speaks to us also (it’s called worry, fear and doubt) so we have to be able to discern whose voice we are really hearing – but I definitely believe that there is a God (a higher power or whatever you choose to call Him) and I believe that He speaks to us daily. I know that He loves us and wants the best for us. Do you think that He is offended by us saying that “Something told us” or “I had a feeling”? I don’t have an answer to this but I suppose He would probably like to be acknowledged for contributing to our safety and our lives in this way.

What do you think? Do you believe in a higher power? Do you think that God speaks to us? Or do you think that things like this are just a coincidence?

Please feel to continue the conversation in the COMMENT section below. And, if you LIKE this post, why not also SHARE it with others? 🙂

3 thoughts on “Intuition”

  1. Hard to believe I’m the first to comment. I do believe in God but I don’t follow a specific faith any longer because I grew very disillusioned by “the church”. In my experience, “the church” is established with the goal to control – much like the government, sadly. But I believe and I know He speaks to us if we’re willing to listen. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment! I am not at all an expert in this area as I have strayed from faith many times in my life, could be why I made so many bad choices. I agree, From what I have found in my own life, He speaks whether I choose to listen or not. When I haven’t listened, I have noticed the “detour” that my life has taken.

      OAN: I think I am having technical difficulties (and learning difficulties) for getting this blog up and running. I don’t think many people are really able to find it unfortunately, lol.

      Like

      1. Ahh. I found that I got more readers (without really trying) by participating in the daily prompt and now in Blogging 101. I didn’t start that to get a following, more to get the writing practice but it was a nice side effect.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

