The Sky is the Limit…

I was watching Good Morning America and they had Shonda Rhimes and Judy Sheindlin on today. These women may be the epitome of success and may even be where some of us see ourselves in the future. Robin was given the honor of interviewing Shonda and, I must say, listening to her speak re-awoke something in me that I buried deep inside.

Now, for those of you that don’t happen to know who Shonda Rhimes is… I will tell you. Shonda is the creator of some of our favorite Thursday night television shows, to include, “Grey’s Anatomy”; “Scandal”; and her most recent one “How to Get Away with Murder”. This is one busy, and very talented, lady. Not only is she a successful writer but she is also a mom of 3 daughters. Talk about lucky…I wish I was a part of that clan. 🙂

During Shonda’s interview she said something that resonated with me and, my belief is that it will resonate with all of you, in some way. The question was asked, “Being a mom, how do you balance everything?” To which her response was, “There is sacrifice, much like with anything that we want in this life. I am a mom of 3 daughters and I feel very blessed and happy to know that I am in a position to show my daughters that nothing is impossible for women.” Wow! How simple, yet deep, all at once.

Many of us, as women and mothers, feel as though we have to compromise and many of us are not doing what we love to do, whether by choice or circumstance. What would it look like to do what we love and how would that affect not only our lives but our children and all those that come in contact with us?

Also, during the interview Shonda made mention to the fact that she had not been told “No” a lot of times. To which Robin responded, “This is what you were meant to do.” Meant to do? Think about that for a moment. There is almost a sense of regret in my spirit when I think about this however, “…life is not over ’til it’s over”, is something my grandma used to always say. So, there is still time to do what we love until we take our last breath. I don’t know about you but my goal is to be able to show my children that with hard work, focus, determination and Jesus…anything is possible.

If you’ve ever loved court t.v., like I did at one point, you may remember this next feisty lady, wife and mother, Judy Sheindlin, from the court show “Judge Judy”. She has written a new book entitled, “What Would Judy Say – Be the Hero of Your Own Story”.

The thing I love about her is that she is just so real and unapologetic about showing tough love. She takes control of her detsiny and that, in my opinion, is never wrong. What I remember the most about her interview, this morning, was some of the advice she gave. At one point she said, “Success builds confidence so find something you love and that you’re good at and find a way to make a living out of it.” Simple advice right? Yet probably not so simple to do, as most of us can probably attest to. It’s like they say, “If it’s so easy, most of us would be doing and living it”.

Are you starting to notice a theme here? I thought you would because I sure did. I challenge you to figure out what you’re good at, what you love doing and find a way to go and do it because remember, “…the sky is the limit…”.

Leave a Reply

