Tender-Headed Kids

So, I am one of the many mothers that has to deal with not one, not even two but three tender-headed little girls! My 8 year old is definitely not as bad as my 10 year old; and my 4 year old, I think she cries because of all the years she’s seen her big sister cry when getting her hair done. I mean even before I touch her hair with the comb she is balling — and yes, I do mean balling/crying. “You would think someone is killing her”, like my granny used to say. But I digress…

With all of the buzz about natural hair I decided to look into this for my girls and I must say we are not experts yet but I am slowly getting there and have found a few ways to minimize the pain and crying associated with the almighty comb. So here are a few tips and tricks, plus some hairstyles, that I’ve found useful, so far, on this natural hair care journey:

First, always, and I do mean ALWAYS, make sure that you detangle your (or your child’s) hair before you wash it. It simply makes life a lot easier and hair day a lot less dramatic, unless you happen to like the drama.

**Some products that are great for coarse/thick hair include: Kinky Curly Knot Today (my personal favorite) and Tame the Tangles Leave-In Detangler.**

Second, to get your hair straight, without the use of perms, use a straightening comb/flat iron. I happen to use the flat iron on both mine and my 3 daughters hair but I used to use a straightening comb. I find that the flat iron works better for us, and it is a heck of a lot quicker since I have 4 heads to worry about.

**You can find some really good and even inexpensive ones at Walmart, Target, Sally’s but your best bet might be to check at your local beauty supply.**

Last, but certainly not least, always deep condition your hair, at least once a week. This cuts down on and also helps to keep your hair soft, manageable along with having that refreshing feeling for a longer period of time.

**You can deep condition your hair by leaving your conditioner of choice in your hair for at least 30 minutes to an hour. Buy a shower cap that you can cover your hair with while you are waiting. I am not sure if having a shower cap on is mandatory but I have found that it helps if you have little ones that like to touch their hair when they are out of your sight. Some products that are great for this step are: SheaMoisture Raw Shea Butter Deep Masque, Bee Mine Bee-U-Ti-Ful Deep Conditioner and Neutrogena Triple Moisture Daily Deep Conditioner. I happen to love the SheaMoisture one because it moisturizes, restores and conditions your hair in ways that I believe no other conditioner really can AND it’s an all-natural product.**

Simple, Natural Hair Styles: These styles are kid-friendly, some are adult-friendly too.

Low Bun

High/Dancer’s Bun

Ponytails

Twists

Braids

Curls/Curly

Afro

My 10-year old happens to love keeping her hair out but I hate that it always got matted to her head during the night, since she sweats in her head when she sleeps. With this in mind, I decided to look into how to make styling her hair easier, for when we have very little time in the morning. Here is what I found:

I will usually oil her hair and make sure it is detangled before tying her hair up for the night. Coconut and Olive Oils are 2 of my favorite and are some of the best, and most used, oils for natural hair care.

Okay, so now it’s your turn… I would love to hear about some of the products that you can’t live without? Share your natural hair products and stories with me. Let’s continue this natural hair journey and help each other in the process.

2 thoughts on “Tender-Headed Kids”

Leave a Reply

